(414) 266-2000

  • A A A

    Text Size

  • Print Page

                                           Mission Healthy Kids Healthy Schools 

Mission: Healthy Kids Healthy Schools Challenge

Welcome to the Mission: Healthy Kids Healthy Schools Challenge. Mission: Healthy Kids, a partnership of Kohl’s Cares and Children’s Hospital of Wisconsin, is excited to offer this opportunity for all Wisconsin schools to participate. The challenge is free, and it provides educators simple, fun and interactive ways to introduce healthy behaviors to students. The next Challenge in fall 2018 will focus on physical activity. Check back or join the email list for updates and information.

Congratulations to schools that participated in the spring 2018 Healthy Minds Challenge

Three special $500 awards designed to further work with policy, systems and environmental changes focusing on healthy minds were awarded. Educators registered more than 20,000 students in 27 Wisconsin counties to participate in the Healthy Minds Challenge held last spring. Educators chose from three outlined challenges (Daily Mindfulness, Mindful Journal or Reducing Screen Time) or created their own. The Challenge guidelines included a rubric to guide them through the process. They then completed a Challenge Summary to qualify for one of 20 classroom awards and be registered for the three $500 drawings.  

The following are the top 20 schools that qualified for classroom awards to further their mindfulness activities: Lake Mills Elementary School, Lake Mills School District; Somerset Elementary School, Somerset School District; Nasonville Elementary School, Marshfield School District; EBSOLA Dual Language School, Kenosha Unified School District; Johnson Creek Elementary, Johnson Creek School District; Riverside Elementary, Fond du Lac School District; Houlton Elementary, Hudson School District; Kosciusko Elementary, Cudahy School District; Evergreen Elementary, Holmen; Monroe Elementary School, Manitowoc Public Schools; St. Joseph Academy, Milwaukee; Bruce-Guadalupe School, Milwaukee; Franklin Elementary, Manitowoc Public School District; Cooper Elementary, Clement Avenue School, Trowbridge Elementary, Neeskara Elementary School, Wedgewood Park Middle School, Milwaukee Public Schools.

In addition, the following three schools from the top 20 won a random drawing to receive a $500 Challenge Grant to continue their mindfulness work in the classroom: Lake Mills Elementary, Lake Mills; Nasonville Elementary, Marshfield and Evergreen Elementary, Holmen. 
Choose your challenge 1


Register 2

Take the challenge 3

Questions or ideas 4